Category: 2019/20 Kristine T. (Norway) Blog Blogger Study Abroad Uncategorised

Hello, My name is Kristine. I am a 17 year old girl from Norway. Right now I live in Trondheim with my family and our two dogs, but at the end of August I will be going to Ireland to live there for one year. Here in Trondheim I go to Thora Storm High School where I have an awesome class and a lot of great friends. In my spare time, I like to workout, listen to music and spend time with my friends and family.

This is a picture taken this summer when my family and I went to the United States on vacation. It’s me in the front, my little brother, Henrik, right behind me, and then my mom Marianne and my dad Bjorn in the back. We had so much fun during the three weeks we spent in the US. We visited California, Arizona and Nevada and experienced things like Universal Studios, Hollywood and Grand Canyon. But, there is one family member missing in this picture, my big sister Helene. She is 24 years old, has moved out and is currently studying in Bergen. She also did an exchange year seven years ago. She went to the US and had such a good experience. That is one of the reasons I am doing an exchange year.


This is a picture of me and my friends taken on the 17th of May. 17th of May is Norway’s national day. It is my favourite day of the whole year, because I just love the traditions we have for this day. We celebrate the day by wearing our national costume called “Bunad” (that you can see in the picture), and we march through the streets singing and waving our flags.

We also eat a lot of good food and spend time with the people we love. Although I love big days and celebrations such as the 17th of May, I also like to just chill out when I am with my friends and family. With my friends I like to do anything from watching a movie, go shopping, go bowling or have a picnic outside. My family and I like to go traveling, going to our cabin or just chill out at home.



I mentioned earlier that I like to workout, and kickboxing is my favourite way of working out. I have done kickboxing for almost two years. It is so much fun, and a great way of working out! This picture is from my grading where I got my orange belt, and the picture below is from when I won my first match.

BUT, enough bragging. I love kickboxing, but I am very open to try something new when I go to Ireland. It would be so much fun to do something completely different for a year. Maybe I could learn some riverdance, or gaelic football?



Why did I choose Ireland as my host country? I have never been to Ireland before, but I have seen pictures, heard and read about the country. I love to spend time outside, and from the pictures I have seen, it looks like Ireland has beautiful nature. It is called “The green Island” after all, so I thought it would be the perfect destination for me.

I also think that it seems like a very interesting culture that I would really like to learn more about. All the people I have talked to that have been to Ireland has told me that Irish people are so nice, funny and friendly. So one day last summer I decided, Ireland is the country I want to go to for my exchange year.


This is a picture of me and my friends in front of the beautiful sunset taken this summer. I am the one to the left, with the hat, next to me is my friend Amalie, then Carmina and Astrid. As you can see, the nature here in Norway is very beautiful as well. As I am writing this post it is less than a week until I am going to the Welcome camp in London.

To be honest, I am both nervous and excited at the same time. I am excited to do something completely different for a year, meet new people and experience a different culture, but I am also very nervous about being away from my family and friends for so long. It is scary to move to a new country all alone when you are 17 years old, but I am sure that it will be a great experience and that I will learn a lot from it!

Take a look:

More of Kristine’s blogs

Juraj’s blogs:                     Beatriz’s blogs:                  Asako’s blogs: